Arguments about wether an employer should have access to Information about interests and marital status of an intending employee or not

Some group of people believe it is not essential for employers to ask job seekers personal information such as their hobbies or marital status while others think otherwise but I opine it is very crucial to request for such details because it will help the employer make a better decisions about their suitability and performance.

On the one hand, eligibility and performance are key factors. Firstly, knowing if a job seeker is in a relationship is vital because it will enable the employer know if he or she is fit for the role. Take for instance, a married woman should not be assigned a permanent night-shift as this will have an adverse effect on her family. In addition, an employee interests are also important so that the company knows what motivate him or her for a greater performance at work.

On the other hand, I do not think it is of any use demanding for such intricate information but rather disclosing such information should be optional as it really does not have much to do with the job at hand. Disclosing such details may bring about marital disparities as some companies do not like to employ women that are married to certain positions because they believe it will interfere with their performance.

In conclusion, though some demographics believe it is imperative to demand from an applicant information about their marital status or whether they are in a relationship or not while some other people feel it is not mandatory for employers to have access to such details but I opine that it is absolutely of great relevance to the suitability and performance of the employee.