Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

With technology continuously expanding and penetrating every aspect of human interaction, it is believed by some that employees may soon get to work from the comfort of their home, while students will learn through computers, skipping the benefits of classroom studies. I believe that while this change of work culture will be beneficial for workers, it will prove to be a disaster for children. This essay will elaborate upon this view; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, as large number of females join the workforce to play the role of a breadwinner, the stress to juggle between work and family has increased. The facility for employees to work from their home location will prove to be a blessing for all those families who are struggling to find work-life balance. As, this would save them from hassles of the traffic and would add to their productive hours. To illustrate this, a recent study by PEW research foundation indicated that companies which provide work from home facility to their employees have high penetration rate and the employees feel motivated to perform well to remain an asset for the rewarding organization.

On the contrary, the same facility for students will prove to be a disaster as this would shun their interaction with the teachers and their classmates. Schools are an essential part of childhood and provide a holistic environment not only for academic excellence but for every aspect of a student’s life. For instance, children make friends, learn from their surroundings and learn the importance of teamwork, patience, and competitiveness from group activities in schools. Therefore, limiting interaction to machines would damage their social interactions and learning abilities.

To conclude, while the work from home facility will help parents to devote more time to their children, it may not reap the same benefits for youngsters whose learning is not limited to computers but to the world surrounding them.