Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sport personality brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Celebrities attract a lot of attention from the public and living as a celebrity has its merits and demerits. Some people believe that the superstars are always too busy and everything about them is open to the public. However, celebrities are rich and respected in the society. Ultimately, I think the benefits of being a celebrity outweighs the problems.

Celebrities’ schedules are usually too tight. They hardly have time to do things out of the things that have brought them fame because they are always occupied with programmes. For instance, a football player spends a plethora of time outside home practising, playing and even attending talk shows or interviews, which might deprive his family members of having quality time with him. Moreover, affairs of Very Important Personalities (VIPs) are always exposed to the public. Whatever they do instantly make the headlines and this is believed by some people to be very problematic.

Nevertheless, despite the challenges earlier stated, there are more gains in that celebrities are highly respected in the community. People usually regard them in high esteem because they are famous and they are mostly seen to have added value to the society. For example, a popular movie actor whose films have taught youths moral lessons will be respected by the ones affected and their parents. What is more, a lot of oppourtunities to make money comes with being famous. Thus, celebrities have a high chance of being rich and even becomes even richer as they associate with companies and products for commercial purposes. For instance, companies engage celebrities to endorse their products so as to increase their sales, such contract can earn the celebrity a fortune.

In conclusion, to my mind, there are more merits to being a celebrity because the possibility of becoming very wealthy and regarded in high dignity in the society is very high. More than the problems that can be faced with time and exposure, which can be easily managed, gains that come with prestige cannot be overemphasized.