Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sport personality brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Celebrities attract a lot of attention from the public but living as a celebrity has its merits and demerits. Some people believe that the superstars are always too busy and they lack privacy. However, celebrities are rich and respected in the society. Ultimately, I think the gains of being a celebrity outweighs the problems.

Celebrities are usually faced with different challenges. They usually have very busy schedules, so they hardly have time for personal things. For instance, a footballer spends a plethora of time outside home practising and playing for tournaments, which might deprive him of spending quality time with his family members. Moreover, Very Important Personalities (VIPs) hardly have any private life. Whatever they do instantly makes the news.

Nevertheless, despite the stated challenges, there are significant gains in being a celebrity. They are highly respected in the community. People usually regard them in high esteem because of the values they add to the society. A number of celebrities are known to have touched lives with their songs, movies, sports, projects and gifts. What is more, many celebrities are wealthy. They have a lot of opportunities to make money because of their fame. For instance, some companies engage celebrities to endorse their products which can lead to sales increment, such business can earn the celebrity a fortune.

In conclusion, I think the benefits of being a celebrity outweighs the challenges because there is a high possibility of becoming very wealthy and respected. More than the problems celebrities face with time and confidentiality, which can be easily managed, the gains that come with their status cannot be overemphasized.