In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Even though agriculture has been experiencing a number of developments lately, a lot of people still lack food. Thus, malnutrition has become the order of the day in several homes in many countries. Food wastages and exorbitant costs are the significant culprits for the food shortages; nevertheless, the solutions are not far-fetched.

Hunger has been a serious issue for many people in different parts of the world for several reasons. The principal one being that food is too expensive and many people cannot afford it due to their meagre income. For instance, research shows that most people in developing countries, which are densely populated, have difficulties in affording quality three square meals daily. Consequently, most families miss one or two meals every day. Furthermore, advances in technology have led to mechanised farming which is characterised by mass production; however, majority of the products get wasted even before getting to the grassroots. Perishable goods such as fruits and vegetables get spoilt in transit many times and seasonal foods are excessively available just a few weeks in a year and become scarce afterwards.

However, these problems can be solved. Firstly, the government can provide more support to the agricultural sector so as to reduce the prices of food. The cost burden on food products can be lessened by exempting these items, such as farm products and meats, from being taxed. The cost of transportation can also be subsidized by the government. Moreover, issues on food wastage can be fixed by developing reliable preservative techniques for perishable goods and improving the methods of conveying all food products. Although more research will be required in developing such methods, the research cost is an investment which will help reduce hunger.

In conclusion, if the government and researchers can intervene, food will be more readily available, affordable and accessible for most people, hunger will thus be alleviated. Apparently, everybody, and even the common man, can find the recent agricultural developments beneficial.