In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is true that the number of people that suffer from medical issues keeps going up. This is mainly due to over-consumption of fast food. As a result of this, there have been debates on whether the government should increase the tax on fast food. I am in full support of this idea because people will control the rate at which they take such food and the government will have more funds to be used in the health sector.

When people find fast food more expensive as a result of the higher tax, they will be forced to control what they eat and they will eat balanced diets which are mostly not taxed. Although some people argue that they usually consume snacks because they are always too busy to cook, I think the high cost of fast food will make people eat less of it despite their tight schedule. In other words, the increase in prices of snacks will obviously initiate the consciousness of "eating good" in many people's mind, they will adjust and eat alternative food even when they are quite busy. They can eat fruits, vegetables and home-made food more which are beneficial to their health. This consciousness will help them prevent sicknesses such as diabetes, cancer and hypertension.

In addition, once these diseases reduce, the amount government spends on sicknesses will drop, there will be more money to spend in the health sector. While I admit that it is not the government's responsibility to control what people eat – like some people say, raising fast food tax will be beneficial to everyone at the end of the day. This is because there will be more fund for better health facilities, training of health personnel, the availability of free vaccines for children and most people will be healthier. This is a win-win situation and should be encouraged.

In conclusion, even though it seems some people might not want the tax raised, I totally agree that fast food should be taxed heavily so as to prevent many deadly diseases and provide adequately for everybody's health need. Prevention is better than cure, also, the health of the people is the nation's health.