Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign languages.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are numerous languages globally and being able to communicate effectively with foreigners makes ones stay abroad exciting and easy. It’s argued that only working or travelling overseas makes one to take up foreign tongues. This essay discusses this claim and also explain that there are other reasons why international languages should be learnt. To my mind, expressing oneself in a foreign way should not be limited to the need to be abroad as the language can be used even in one’s own country.

The obvious argument has been that learning an international language in one’s locality can end up to be a waste. It has been reported that any skill acquired and not used for about 2 years can easily be forgotten. Thus, if one invests in building one’s foreign language capability and was unable to speak this language with anyone for more 2 years, the language can be forgotten and every resources put into this investment will be wasted. Thus when a new language is learnt, it is highly recommended for one to have people who can be communicated with in the language. Moreover, most foreign employees now look out for people who are not just skilful on their job but they prefer to recruit multi-skilled talents who can communicate efficiently with other co-workers. This makes the adventure of learning new language for the purpose of travelling worth exploring.

Contrary to this opinion, I think speaking a foreign language doesn’t really require one to travel abroad. Jobs like language translators, linguistics, teachers and international relations managers in ones’ indigenous country requires expertise in foreign languages. These careers which requires international languages are rewarding and can give satisfaction to the employee and foster relationship with other countries thereby help in economy development of a nation. Furthermore, learning other languages can also help increase ones’ knowledge about the world at large. For instance, when I learn a language spoken in another country, I will have a better understanding of the country’s culture and even history.

To sum up, acquiring knowledge of languages spoken abroad should not be limited to the purpose of traveling or doing an international job but this can be a good means of living in ones’ country and help in understanding human race better.