In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is true that overconsumption of fast food has led to the aggravation in the rate at which residents of some nations suffer from medical ailments. While exacting more tariff on fast food seem to combat some health challenges as people becomes more conscious of their eating habit and reduce fast food intake, I am of the opinion that this action will ultimately increase the level of hardship and even escalate some other health issues.

It is possible for the government to achieve part of its objectives in the short run by increasing the levy charged on fast food for two reasons. Firstly, a higher tax on fast food may discourage some people from purchasing such food always. They will consider going for alternative meals such as home-made food more often. Thus, the rate of illness such as diabetics, obesity and high blood pressure might reduce. In addition, since people will become more conscious of their purse because of the increased tax, there will be an increased consciousness in developing a better eating habit. This will make the residents more responsible for their health and take in foods that are more beneficial. They will give more priority to eating more balanced diets which will include non-taxed raw foods like fruits and vegetables.

However, increased levy on fast food will significantly have negative impacts on many people. In the first instance, there will be an increased rate of poverty. Since fast food is a necessity to a lot of people, considering their nature of work and lifestyle, a rise in fast-food tax will automatically lead to higher feeding cost. With this, many people's earnings will be used for eating only. Therefore, the level of hardship on the nationalities will increase drastically. For example, a research showed that introduction of Value Added Tax (VAT) on fast food in a country increased the poverty rate exponentially. Furthermore, the higher tariff will lead to a higher rate of other illness. In other words, as the prices of fast food increases, many people will have to start missing meals and go hungry many times. Consequently, in the long run, there is a very high risk of such dwellers to be diagnosed with sicknesses such as ulcer, low sugar level or malnutrition.

In conclusion, imposing more taxes on fast food seem not to be the best solution to the health issue many societies face. Although this might look like a fairly good idea now, I believe that the end result in making people poorer and even more prone to other diseases will be more catastrophic and should be avoided.