Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum outweigh the disadvantages?

Some museums can be accessed at no cost whereas others require an access fee from visitors. While museums that charge tend to have lower patronage and may not be too popular, they will have some funds for maintenance and they are more secure. Ultimately, I think it is more beneficial for museums to charge for admission.

Making people pay entry fees at museums might have some downsides. Firstly, fewer people will tend to patronise such museums. In other words, since many people are cost sensitive and appreciate freebies more, they will rather prefer to patronise free museums. For instance, it was once reported that the number of people visiting a Museum in Ile-Ife reduced after an admission fee was introduced. In addition, such charges might negatively affect the popularity of the museum. This is because more people will naturally like to visit free museums, so they might talk more about the free ones than they do with the ones that charge, thereby reducing the popularity and fame of the museums that require payments.

On the other hand, a lot of significant benefits are associated with museums that charge. The charges can serve as a reliable source of income to allow proper maintenance. If the museums do not charge the visitors, who will bear the maintenance cost? The access fees can be used in keeping the museums in their best conditions. Examples of maintenance that can be done include fixing of broken statues, replacement of old and faulty doors and cleaning of the facilities. Furthermore, paying to gain entrance into a museum can make it more secured. Making it free for all might be risky considering the valuable items kept in the museum and the lives of the visitors or tourists. Charging can be a good strategy to ensure that a museum is accessed by only committed and serious people with a level of trust.

In conclusion, even though free museums are popular and can easily attract customers, it pays more for museums to charge so as to maintain good standards and ensure a high level of security. I think most people will appreciate secured and efficient museums more, thus, it is highly expedient for museums to charge their customers before admitting them.