Some people believe that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

General societal development is not meant to be the sole responsibility of the government. Thus, free services from the community is required and this needs to be mandatory aspect of what is being done in post-secondary institutions. Even though such free services can be a source of distraction to high school students, I agree they should be a compulsory part of the school because it makes the students more responsible by giving to humanity which is rewarding at the end of the day and also, it makes the students better time managers.

The major purpose of schooling is to study and learn, taking up additional task such as free charity job, environmental enhancement like cleaning and free children sport trainings can distract the students. Academic workload is usually cumbersome and distractions from community services when not well managed can negatively affect the results of some students.

However, services rendered to the society is highly appreciated and it is a great responsibility. This prepares the scholars involved for the future. Furthermore, since community development services is an act of giving, making it mandatory will help the students to imbibe the act of giving which comes with its rewards. Such rewards can be job oppourtunities, connection, business and even finance oppourtunities.

In addition to the point raised, making free community work obligatory will help high school students to be better time managers. Since this added responsibility will take some of their time, so as to avoid any negative result, the students will be forced to find ways to manage their time more effectively. Examples of these ways include prioritizing, making use of to-do list and saying no when required.

In conclusion, taking up the task of rendering free services to the community should be a must for high school students. This is an effective way to prepare the scholars for leadership and the great future ahead.