In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The recent spike in the rate at which a lot of mini-store in the neighbourhood are going to extinction continues to be a controversial topic as the mega-shops now gradually overtake the businesses of the small stores. This essay discusses the impact of this development and pointed out that this is a more favourable situation which depicts economy growth.

To start with, the nature of the huge modern trade stores allows them to hold authentic products most times. Due to this, it is easier for customers to rely on the products as they will be sure and guaranteed of its quality. Furthermore, the high supermarkets have good systems in place to allow them manage the products. Thus, best practices such as First In First Out (FIFO) is done and with this only unexpired products will be displayed on shelf and customers will not buy expired product which can cause health issues or even death. What is more, shopping in large malls allows one to save both time and cash. Time is precious, so it is better to travel once and buy in bulk even at discounted rate as many companies focuses their promotional activities on such channels.

Conversely, the closure of local stores implies loss of businesses to the indigenes. This is a challenge which needs to be mitigated especially as unemployment rate is currently on the high side. The local business owners can be encouraged to partner with big stores, with that, they can acquire necessary skills to build such empires of big supermarkets. Moreover, since neighbourhood stores are usually stone throw from people’s residents, their extinction means no room to purchase in urgent situations and this might increase stress people in the community encounter. To prevent such stress, people will need to adjust and become more organised in their purchase plan.

To sum up, quality of products can directly affect one’s life and should not be taken likely. It is therefore better to shop in reliable places where quality is guaranteed such as big malls regardless the distance and even if it means that some small stores will close down. Health is wealth and the wealth of individuals is the wealth of a nation.