Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Community services is one the important virtues that must be inculcated in the students during their formative years of education. Whether these activities should be paid or unpaid? This conundrum is deliberated in the essay below.

Volunteering, is by very nature, is expected to be provided for free. Many schools plan project work involving ocean cleaning activities to clear up the plastic trash from the beaches. This service imbibes in the student a feeling of being a responsible citizen and connects with their communities.There is another example, pupils in Japan after school hours clean their campus and toilets. this may seem pretty strange for the rest of the world but Japanese believe that their kids should to learn human values like empathy and respect from a very young age.

On the contrary, there are projects, which involve travelling to overseas countries, promoted by United Nations.Many students want to engage in humanitarian causes are unable to do due to expensive of the financial costs associated to the assignment. For example, if a project is presented to travel to Vietnam to teach English to a rural community and help develop their society, many students drop out because they simply cannot self-fund those expenses.To motivate and to encourage more participation from young people, these not-for-profit organizations pay for stipend, insurance, meal and accommodation for the helpers.Sometimes, the social work is based in war-torn countries or remote location in Africa, where with the help of young enthusiasts, the NGO try to develop the local communities and restore peace. With an international participation, organization like NATO and un are able to garner support from developed nations to resolve problems in these places.

Based on the aforementioned discussion, social work is undoubtedly an important contribution from the well-provided to the underprivileged people. However, whether these jobs should cover basic costs of the volunteer depends on the task, location and expenses.