The best way to solve the world's traffic and environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

It is true that the tackling of traffic problems impacting on the environment has always been a topic of debate. Some people suggest that raising the fuel price is the best solution to cope with environmental issues. From my perspective, I disagree with this notion for reasons outlined.

On the one hand, a sharp rise in petrol price is indeed of the essence. The key rationale in favor of this view is that if the government increased taxes on petrol, in the modern days, people still cannot cut down the tremendous demand for fuel at once. In other words, the problem of traffic jams and pollution would stay unsolved, because people would still travel to work, to school, or to shops on a daily basis, for example. Another compelling interpretation is that petroleum is also used for various purposes in manufacturing and agriculture industries, thus the reluctance of using expensive fuel is more likely to have an acute affect on the national economy.

However, I am convinced that it is far more of a drawback for the citizens, it is absurd to downplay the imperative of raising the fuel cost. When the government adopts policies rising in fuel cost, motorists would restrict the number and length of their journeys to compensate for the extra expense. The national authorities would then use this money to subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in transport infrastructure. Additionally, in terms of freight services, a plethora of goods are able to be transported by rail rather than by struck. As a result, this would relieve many roads from heavy traffic by reducing the number of vehicles, which in return alleviates the problem of pollution caused by exhaust fumes and helps in the effort to combat greenhouse gas.

In conclusion, while advocates believe that heightening the price of fuels would be a useful remedy for the environment, I am convinced that this might be a stopgap measure and some other methods should be adopted instead.