some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that the government assistance on transportation infrastructure has been a polarizing topic. While the proponents of this tendency are adamant that the government spending should invest in constructing railroad and subway lines to diminish traffic jams , others assert that this expenditure should be allocated in building more broader roads. In this essay, I will look at the reasoning of both camps before explaining why I side with the former.

On the other hand, the key rationale in favor of this view is that the erecting train and subway lines can decrease traffic jams .It is clear that trains have a plethora of spacious rooms and a handful of seats, which means that they contain a colossal number of passengers and deliver them to a destination in one time. Moreover, trains will run their own rail, hence the waiting for other kinds of transport and stopping at traffic lights is impossible. Another compelling interpretation is that the bulk of these public transport is invariably on time compared to private vehicles. Therefore, the use of these means of transport like trains or subways act as a deterrent at higher risk of traffic congestion in rush hour.

On the other hand, there are several arguments in support of the idea that the construction and extension of roadways are feasible. Firstly, the utilization of individuals’ own vehicles brings greater benefits than trains and subways such as more convenient, faster than and flexible time. Prime example, in Vietnam, motorcycles are the main transport of the vast majority of residents, thus the expanded roads for motorbikes or automobiles can cope with traffic jams due to the huge number of private transports on the rise. Secondly, it is equally important to note that travelers, who use trains and subways, are more likely to get into a flurry of troubles such as jostling in the crowd or even being pickpocketed.

In conclusion, we cannot deny that both sides are well-grounded, but I would contend that the construction of railroads is the optimal method to mitigate traffic congestion.