It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is widely acknowledged that students choosing study science subjects as their major in many nations is a minority. Although there are undoubtedly some reasons of this tendency. In this essay will demonstrate some measures can be taken to mitigate the potential consequences.

On the one hand, there are various compelling interpretations why fewer students choose science subjects. First and foremost, science subjects including space science, astronomy or computer science are troublesome. It is clear that these subjects consist of a colossal amount of academic knowledge which is extremely tough and abstract. Therefore, students need to have an intelligent brain to address a plethora of burdensome tasks as well as be capable of resisting the pressure. Another compelling point is that employment opportunities for those who have a certification related to science majors is scarce. In fact, when in large-sized enterprises, they can hire hundreds of workers, but recruiting science experts only three people is maximum. As a result, these days, the vast majority of students are more likely to pursue a profession that is less problematic but it is straightforward for them to seek jobs.

There are a number of interpretations behind this tendency and I would argue that it can have some adverse implications on society. In fact, the number of students who study science and the ones studying other majors are able to be inequality. As a repercussion, there is a labor shortage in fields of science, as well as an insufficiency of technological innovations and discoveries, thus lacking scientists to decelerate the development of society. Additionally, due to the less career prospects in science, the more students majoring in it may be redundant. As a result, the burden of unemployment on society would increase.

In conclusion, the problem of studying science subjects not being taken by students is caused by a number of factors as discussed in this essay, and this issue may bring negative impacts on the society.