Some people think that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that the concern of what subjects that students should focus on has been a polarizing topic. While the proponents of this tendency are adamant that food science and cooking should be added to study programs, others assert that students should utterly concentrate on major subjects. In this essay, I will look at the reason for both camps before explaining why I side with the former.

On the one hand, studying the science of food and cooking are indeed of the essence. The key rationale in favor of this view is that academic subjects such as Math and Literature arm the individual student with the foundation knowledge. What is more imperative than that is that these knowledge act as a precursor to facilitate their career progress down the road. For example, logical thinking acquired during the math lessons as well as critical thinking fostered by the literature lessons are prerequisites to enhance problem-solving skills. Another compelling interpretation is that the timetable of high school students is already crowded by a plethora of extracurricular activities such as art, music and sport, hence complementing scientific subjects is not straightforward.

On the other hand, there are several arguments in support of the idea that studying science of food and how to prepare meals would bring a healthy diet for numerous students. First and foremost, knowledge of these subjects is related to the study of human biology, which means schoolers might comprehend the concepts of building up the immune system as well as human body structures. By the same token, students also possessed a solid understanding of biochemical subjects pertaining to artificial colouring and flavouring, chemical preservative and food labelling. In addition, having a good grasp of food and diet, young people are able to be aware of the value of healthy eating habits and nutrients. Moreover, those who are proficient with culinary skills are more capable of adjusting their dietary pattern which aims at living more healthier by preparing homemade food.

In conclusion, we cannot deny that both sides are well-grounded, but I would contend that science of food subjects and cooking can boost their horizon about foods and keep them fit.