In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past, elderly folk used to live with the rest of the family. However, these days, after retirement, older people live among other retired people at 'assisted living communities'. One of the major topics of discussion in the United Kingdom is about who should bear the cost of such an arrangement. I believe the government should sponsor them as part of their pension package.

The government could use the taxes paid by the individual over the years and return it back to the individual on retirement along with the interest accrued on the amount. This could be very helpful for the old to set themselves up at an old people's home when they so desire. Senior citizens serving their country and helping boost the nation's economy over time should be compensated for their efforts.

A nation is expected to take good care of her citizen and part of it is to cater to the senior citizens and their living. A well-run government could establish and manage retirement homes as part of its administration and offer it free of charge to the old. Alternatively, it could also tax the working class of the nation and allocate a specific amount to fund the well-being of elderly individuals and retirement homes. For instance, developed countries reward higher salaries to their people and also tax them heavily. This is an attempt to assist the same individual after retirement.

In conclusion, nations must take into account various factors before they decide to assist the old people of the country. This should be looked at by countries on a case by case basis since the nation's economy might not be able to handle such a load. However, I believe it is every government's responsibility to take care of its inhabitants; be it young or old.