In Britain when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. sometimes the government have to pay for this care. who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Old homes are an important amenity of today's society, and no one can deny the fact. Aged people Living in old homes is a common practice in countries like the United Kingdom. These living facilities are accompanied by various necessities including proper take care by the trained staff. However, they are solely funded by the government, whereas common people are not contributing in the finances. This essay will elaborate, why the government and people should equally participate in running these homes?

The people availing the services of old homes are those who have served the country for more than 40 years in numerous departments. They have put all their energies and youth years in working for the prosperous economy of the state; after 75 they are at the age where they depend on society for their need. It is the responsibility of the state to look after them. No doubt, the government department is allocating sufficient budget to fulfill the financial needs. For instance, 2% of the total budget of the UK is spent on old homes. So, the state is doing well.

However, this could burden the government in various ways. The allocated budget is cut down from other public sector services. Hence, education and health care facilities may suffer. The nation can play a vital role by contributing some amount during their job period. It would be helpful if the people are willing to pay a small percentage of their monthly salary for the sake of this service in future. We have various examples of countries where some proportion from the pays of employees is deducted for future pensions and retirement needs, such as old homes. This model is successfully working in Malaysia, where both the people and state are donating equally for the stress-free future of their aged community.

Summing up my opinion, I would suggest neither the state nor the people should encumber entirely to fund elderly welfare services. Both the citizens and the authorities should work together to facilitate better and livable declining years of the community members.