In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?Gi

Most senior citizens in The United Kingdom prefers to live in old age homes with other such people, where they could get support from the nurses who trained to take care of them. Some people suggest that such expenses shall be completely borne by the family members of such elderly people, whereas to my knowledge, heirs of the elderly alone are not responsibilities as even the state is also partially have to contribute to such needs.

To begin with, let us look into the reasons as to why governments have such responsibility. Firstly, while during the course in employment of an individual, some portion of their earning are paid to the government in the forms are pensions. As far the pension - which is a form of post employment benefit- the primary objective of this is to fund the people post their retirement age. Secondly, people pay significant portion of their earnings in the form of taxes throughout their life, which must also be taken into account by the lawmakers while making policies for post retirement benefits to it public.

It is an undeniable fact that, the primary ownership of taking care of elderly ones lies with their heir and other close family members. As members of home are the ones who derive direct benefits from the earnings of their parents, it their duty to fund for their needs after their retirement. The midway to this situation is government should contribute for the basic need whereas any specialized service such as advanced medical treatments or premium rooms services, should have to be paid by the close relatives of the concerned senior citizen.

To conclude, although the government has the responsibility to provide for the needs of its elderly citizens, it must be the duty of the family members to take care of the customized requirements. Unless these expenses are shared between both these parties, there will be no other way to find an optimal solution for this issue.