For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Linguist skills and mathematics have been an integral part of mandatory education since ages. It is proposed that computer skills should be added as a basic subject in primary education. I agree with this view as young minds are more affluent in grasping new skills, it will be a comprehensive and futuristic approach to education. In addition to that, skill learning such as computers enhances cognitive development of a young mind. This essay will discuss advantages of making computers a part of core subjects in formative learning years of child.

As computers have already become a vital part of our life and learning and getting accustomed to it will only beneficial to child rather than learning in later stages. It has proven evidentially that younger brains learn and understand faster, hence it will be a good approach to get children accustomed to computers at a very young age.

Incorporating computers in primary education will be a step forward towards an overall approach to education, as in recent times interdisciplinary approach to education and skill is the new trend. this can be explained by concrete example of graphic design and calligraphy. Steve jobs merged linguistics with technology and it led to development of various fonts in MS word. More inventions like these is only possible if children are taught computers as core subject with other established subjects such as language writing reading and mathematics.

Furthermore, learning skills has a major impact on development of cognitive centers of brain resulting in intellectually strong mind. in a study published by Harvard university, in schools children engaged in learning skills have 5% more intelligent quotient than those whose access was just limited to basic education

To sum up with, incorporating computers as one of the core subjects in primary education is a step forward toward a more comprehensive approach to education. as young children have knack of learning skills faster than the adults and engaging child in skills learning such as computers results in more cognitive development of young mind.