Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What can be done to make families closer?

Family members of today’s society are not as close knit as they used to be. This change can be attributed to economic needs and over indulgence in technological advances. Cumulative efforts by society and authorities are needed to bridge this increasing gap in between the members of a family. This essay shall discuss the reasons of this paradigm shift and the remedial actions needed for reformation

Financial reasons and urge to do well in life is huge driving force behind the trend of migration to foreign land or to bigger cities. In the last decade a huge surge in migration rate has seen in developing nations. In quest of better life and job opportunities, more and more people are opting to migrate leaving their families behind which result in physical separation at first and then the mental separation. For instance, when a person moves to a foreign land, at first he gets busy in establishing himself in a new country and then later on gets busy in new culture and new life, which isolates him from his family back home.

In addition, technology whose original intent was to bring distant people closer is paradoxically, now the reason of mental separation between the people living under same roof. For instance, young children are more intrigued and indulged in talking their online friends or playing online games, rather than to talk to their own family members sitting at the same dining table, hence resulting in social isolation.

First of all, authorities should intervene and should create more job opportunities for qualified people so that they don’t feel the need to move abroad or to migrate to bigger cities and can stay closer to the rest of family members. Secondly, at the home front, all family’s members should actively try to stay close to each other and good quality time should be devoted for interactive sessions amongst family members. For instance, complete ban on using mobile phones or any other gadget while dining may help.

To sum up with, increasing distance between members of same clan can be attributed to misuse or overindulgence in gadgets, financial reasons and to urge to fulfil the age old quest of better life. Reformative steps should be taken by both governments as well as by society members to halt this progressive trend separation.