A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your locality.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community.

Do you support or oppose the factory establishment?

The presence of factories near residential zones is a very controversial topic in modern society. Some people think that it will bring many benefits for the local society, while others believe that it will have negative effects on the environment. Personally, If a factory was to be constructed near my hometown, I would wholeheartedly support the development.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the plan could bring negative effects to society and to the environment. First of all, establishing a new factory will cause air pollution. As we know, a factory will give off a lot of waste air which is harmful to people's health. Even though the factory will take measurements to purify the air, it can not make the air as clean as before. It is no doubt that people's health will be affected by the air emitted from the factory. Second, building a factory will destroy the landscape of this town. Most people living in my hometown make their living by cultivating and harvesting crops. The factory is inappropriate with the landscape of the town and it will occupy the land that is used to farming.

On the other hand, a lot of benefits for many parties will be created when building a new factory near the local residential area. Firstly, it will generate a lot of job opportunities for local people. It is common that a factory will absorb many employments, and for efficiency, it will give priority in hiring the local people. As income increases, people are able to spend more money on their food, clothing and leisure time, and the living standard will be improved. Secondly, establishing a new factory will bring prosperity to our community. The tax collections from a factory is an important source of revenue for our town. As personal income is higher, income tax collected will also be increased. Therefore, the local government could invest heavily in public transportation and infrastructures, this has made life more convenient for everyone in the town.

In conclusion, After weighing the advantages and disadvantages, I strongly believe that a factory would be a wonderful addition to my community.