As computers translate quickly and acurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time?

To what extend do you agree or disagree.

it is argued that learning a foreign language is worthless as the technology could be used to do this, which can perform translations rapidly and precisely. this essay completely disagrees with the statement because mastering in linguistics is completely a different entity and improves knowledge and also it's hard to carry a computer or a translator technology where ever necessary.

To embark on, while a computer could necessarily translate the speech or language, we as humans need to feed the data into it to make it understand what a foreign language is. The translation of only single words or sentences won't help in real-life when we need a foreigner to understand what we want to convey. For this to work smoothly a translator is mandatory and must have a great knowledge of which language he had to transpose. For example, remote areas where computer access is almost impossible a human translator can make people understand about discussions.

Although, for learning a foreign language we could seek help from a computer to know the meanings of sentences we couldn't possibly rely completely on them for efficient translation. Along with this, learning a foreign language could improve intellectuality and emphasizes the way we interact with an outsider and understand the heritage of a country to the core this enables us to cross the language barriers and create wonders and opens the ocean of possibilities from business deals to financial aids and you name it everything we could gain. For instance, a recent study on languages reported that a person who has knowledge of 3 or more linguistics has more intelligent quotient that those who don't have any.

In conclusion, anything we can learn does not mean it's a waste of time rather it is the wise use of it when we learn new things, despite the capabilities of the computer of translation they have their own limitations which are unlikely to humans.