Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, consumer items have gained significant importance in our lives. In this essay, I will shed some light on the merits and demerits of this phenomenon and then provide my own opinion.

On the one hand, there are compelling benefits of people using consumer goods in their daily lives. The primary advantage is that these items save a person’s time. For instance, people frequently use a computer to buy a product from various e-commerce sites instead of spending time driving to brick-and-mortar stores; Indeed, time is money. In addition, consumer gadgets have made communication much easier and affordable between people. For example, a person can use a mobile phone’s chat or video conferencing software to keep in touch with other people by paying a fraction of the cost when compared to the past. Therefore, consumers can reap the benefits of these products.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of people relying on consumer goods on a day-to-day basis. First of all, a person can become materialistic by owning more items such as a tablet computer, smartwatch, exotic car, and so on. Moreover, consumers may succumb to a large financial debt by purchasing various products such as a 3D flat-screen television, latest smartphone, et cetera on installments or credit cards. Consequently, a person will lose frugality and societies may become dysfunctional.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that the merits of a consumer product on people’s daily lives outweigh the drawbacks; consumer goods can save a person’s time and enable easier communication with other people.