The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of a modern lifestyle. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, owing to the sedentary lifestyle of people, the consumption of packaged food has significantly increased. Although this trend is more convenient and easy, in my opinion, its detrimental effect on health surpasses any of its advantages.

To embark on, undoubtedly, convenience food is advantageous as its preparation requires less energy, time and effort. This is because, these products are generally pre-prepared commercially and most of the times consumers can consume it directly or by putting little efforts, as a result, people get enough time and energy to manage the activities of a fast-paced life. For instance, one can consume 'Instant Maggie' by the Nestle just by heating it for 2 minutes in the microwave. Moreover, it is quite hassle-free as it does not requires cleaning of dishes, cutting and chopping of vegetables, which, in turn, save a considerable amount of one's time to spend in something productive work.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned advantage, in my perspective, the rise in the consumption of pre-prepared food has an egregious impact on the health of people. The reason for this is these products are generally packed and conserved using chemical preservatives, which are harmful to human health as it can cause various diseases such as indigestion, food poisoning, high cholesterol, diabetes and obesity. To illustrate, in the USA, there is a 50% hike in the cases of food poisoning among youngsters from the last 2 years, due to the overconsumption of fast and packaged food. Therefore, if the trend of convenience food will keep on rising in the same manner, then the major portion of the population will become unhealthy.

In conclusion, while packaged food items are preferred in these modern fast-moving life as they are time efficient and more convenient, in my view, the harmful impact of consuming chemically prepared convenience food on the health of people far out space its benefits.