Consumers nowadays are faced with increased advertising from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by these advertisements? What measures can be taken to tackle this issue.

With the advent of numerous brands for every product, it has become more of a competition to advertise your brand in order market your product and earn profits. The question is do consumers really change their opinion based on the advertisements.

To elaborate, with the rising competition, advertising the products becomes an important factor for the companies. For example, BMW is one of the top most brands in Automobiles. If a newly launched car company does not advertise their product, consumers might not even notice the launch of it, let alone the fact that in future it may be a competition to BMW. From a company’s perspective, it sounds unreasonable to not advertise the product just because it gives multiple options to the consumers.

Although, advertisements play an important role, with the rising numbers of products in the market consumers may often tend to choose anything from the options available. For instance, while buying a toothpaste or vegetable oil my Mom would not even care about the ads. As long as the product is healthy and suits us, she would buy it. Hence, the ball is totally on the buyer’s court – to buy or not to buy is totally their decision irrespective of the way the product has been advertised.

To conclude, advertisements are influential as long as consumers find them relevant or extra-ordinary. The only way to tackle this situation from a consumer’s perspective is to ignore and not be confused with the variety of brands. Any brand is good to use as long as the choices are not harming anyone.