The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's
cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in
use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be
made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.
Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.
Anyone who lives in a city is aware of the increasing number of cars on the road and the
kinds of problems this creates: traffic jams, air pollution and longer commuting periods. As
economies grow and access to cars spreads to increasing numbers of people, this trend
is likely to worsen. The solution, it would seem, is for government to encourage the use
of public transport in urban areas, thus decreasing dependence on the car.
One way to stimulate public transport use is to make private car use more expensive and
inconvenient. The introduction of tolls along urban motorways has been successfully
employed in many cities. Other such measures are high-priced permits for parking in
urban areas and the restriction of parking to a limited number of cars. Faced with high
costs or no place to park, commuters would perhaps be more willing to abandon their cars
in favour of buses or trains.
There are also less punishing ways of spurring public transport use. The construction of
free car parks at suburban train stations has proven successful in quite a number of
countries. This allows commuters to drive part of the way, but take public transport into
the central, most congested, urban areas.
Indeed, making public transport more comfortable and convenient should work to attract
more commuters and decrease traffic congestion. Public transport that is convenient and
comfortable retains its passengers, much like any business that satisfies its customers.
The more commuters committed to taking public transport, the less congestion on city
streets.