Countries are becoming more and more similar because people buy same products anywhere in the world. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Humans today, are able to purchase akin commodities all around the world, as a result of which nations seem to appear alike. In my opinion, though economic growth of nation is a fruitful result of above notion, it has somehow brought adverse effect on business of local artists.

Talking about the plus points first, one of the major aspects of this phenomenon is that it has led to overall financial increment of nations. With liberalisation of trade barriers and laws, the process of import and export across the countries has smoothed. This has not only eased the flow of goods and services within a state, but has certainly expanded the market in terms of variety of products available to customers. Consequently, it has contributed in increasing GDP of developing nations. Henceforth, booming up economy of state. For instance, a recent survey conducted by Delhi School of Economics revealed that there has been a 16% hike in variation of women clothes available because of this globalization, which ultimately raised India’s GDP by 0.5% for 2018-19.

Counting the drawbacks, artisans from different countries are saddened with the gradual boom of exchanging ideas and artefacts. Not only the objects and amenities got global, but with the mondialisation of skills, there are duplicates or look alike of regional craft-works facilely made in other countries. This has deteriorated the native cultural markets of many nations with rich heritage. Therefore, hampering there age long works and bringing in a sheer decline in their source of income. To exemplify, some shops that dealt with ancient wooden sculptures have recently shut down in southern part of India as they could no longer flourish in their business.

To conclude, it is true that the process of internationalization has led to the availability of similar commodities and facilities in most parts of the world. And no one can deny the fact that it has enabled nations to mint in money and positively impacted the economies on wider fronts. Yet, territorial artists have had a detrimental effect on their professions and this in my opinion is a negative development.