Some believe that training is necessary to be a good teacher, others think that teachers don’t need a training course. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Training plays a vital role in overall development of any professional. In case of teachers, it is thought by some that getting trained is not essential for the reason that this type of profession does not requires to get trained and hence can be avoided. Whereas, for others, it is of an utmost importance as it not only provides a methodology to follow, but also generates unique ways in which students can be taught. In my opinion, the latter one proves to be more fruitful and should be followed.

Owing to a prescribed procedure, trainers can easily impart basic lessons in a meaningful way. In other words, they can make learning an easy process by introducing a timetable which would ultimately avoid repetition of unwanted classes. Consequently, this will help in saving time and make learners focus precisely on important things, which would eventually result in upgraded results. To exemplify, Indian Business School recently came up with mandatory training of 2 months for new faculty. This practice helped them in communication process with students and they were able to pass their knowledge in an enhanced and timely manner, leading to an increase in better final results. Additionally, this process results in creation of new ways of teaching. It helps in origination of innovative methods by brainstorming, which in turn, can turn out to be more effective. Quoting an example, it is because of this training that advanced methods of studying like using BYJU’s-an online learning and training application, have incorporated in a developing country like India. If not introduced, we still would have been facing tremendous challenges in terms of coping up with increased needs of teaching along with aggressive competitions between learners. Furthermore, it helps in generating a positive approach towards facing difficulties in process of teaching with wider perspective. This henceforth, can turn out to be a major asset in terms of teaching as a profession.

Coming to the part wherein it is felt by some that training need not be present in education process, is perceived by them as redundant. It is a result of prolonged traditional way of practicing, which has made these people adamant. To illustrate, government teachers in India are not required to go through a general training process of how to teach. When asked them to follow up a new regime of getting trained first, they instantly declared an all India strike and somehow government dropped this idea. As, a result, students of government schools are yet to make a mark in educational sector.

To conclude, a good number of people still tend to follow the easy path of traditional way of doing things and not indulge in a required training process, which can cause detrimental impact on learning of children. If not trained, these individuals may lack basic understanding of how to teach productively. And according to me, the idea of a proper step by step guide to teach should be made compulsory.