Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world Do you think this is a positive or negative development Discuss both sides

With the advance in transport, communication, and information technologies, people are living in a highly globalized world nowadays. It is true that countries are becoming increasingly similar because people can purchase identical products anywhere around the world without going abroad, due to globalization. In my opinion, while this development has some side-effects, it is generally positive and good for the world.

There are serval reasons that globalization is a positive trend. First, economically, globalization optimizes the division of labor. For example, developed countries focus on the research and design of products, while the labor in developing countries produces these items. As a result, both types of countries can have a higher income compared with the past. In addition, socially, globalization also increases the quality of living in many countries. People are able to enjoy high-quality foreign goods at lower prices. Moreover, globalization is beneficial to the supply chain of the domestic industries because it enlarges the pool of suppliers. This means that factories now have more choices, stabilizing their manufacturing and cutting costs.

Admittedly, some concerns are brought by globalization. The most important one is that globalization eliminates the uniqueness of nations, making them increasingly similar. It is undeniable that foreign cultures are brought to local communities by globalization, together with exotic goods. This may have detrimental effects on the local culture of a country. For example, people in small nations may feel discouraged to learn their native languages because other languages like English are more prevalent worldwide. Further, globalization also increases the inequality between developing and developed countries. Developed nations tend to keep intelligence- and profit-intensive industries in their homeland, while transferring labor-intensive ones to developing countries.

To summarize, while globalization may cause homogenization and inequality, it still has many positive effects both economically and socially. From my perspective, it is a positive trend that should be endorsed.