At the present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of older people Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In some countries, young adults account for a relatively large proportion of the population, compared with elderly people. From my perspective, the advantages of this situation outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, a younger population can benefit a nation in several ways. First, young adults are healthy and well-educated workforce, which plays an important role in the development of a country. Without such a workforce, the industries in a country would face the problem of labor shortage and could not properly operate. In addition, a larger proportion of young adults also tends to alleviate the pressure on the state pension system and health care system, because they are less likely to get sick. As a result, more public money can be spent on other important sectors such as education, transport, and national security. Moreover, having a certain number of young adults assures that the population of a country can maintain at a healthy level, without worrying about the problem of an aging population. This is of great importance to the sustainable economic growth of a nation.

On the other hand, this situation may also bring about social problems. Since young adults are often more impulsive than the elderly, countries with a large proportion of young adults would expect a higher crime rate. As a result, this may lead to an increase on the security budget, putting pressure on governments and taxpayers. Furthermore, having too many young adults would bring a country to another extreme population problem, which is the population explosion. This often results in a general decrease in people's living standards and the exhaustion of natural resources.

To conclude, although having a relatively large number of young adults may bring about some social issues, it still significantly benefits a country in many aspects. In my opinion, the merits of this situation outweigh its drawbacks.