Developments of technology are causing environmental problems. Some people think the solution is that everyone accept a simpler life, while others believe that technology can solve these problems.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the increasing fund has been assigned by many governments for promoting cutting edge technology and science. However, this action sparks much debate, and some people assert that highly developed technologies might jeopardise the environment while others embrace the opposite views. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of science and technology development and explain how it could exert positive impacts on the environment.

It is true that some developed technologies caused environmental problems such as cars and chemical-related products. The city’s air pollution became a significant impairment of people’s life after the explosion of the vehicle production industry. People invented technologies to produce vehicles with the intention of providing conveniences to individuals but overlooked the carbon issue. In addition, many rivers and waters polluted by the emissions of chemical plants, and indirectly poisoned the fish.

On the hand, many technologies brought many benefits to society and improved the environment. Firstly, the global greenery areas increased rapidly after the implementation of the measures and technologies that developed for tackling with deforestation issue. The increased amount of plantings will be beneficial to air quality and soil condition. Secondly, plenty of scientific research and technologies had been made to improve water quality. Marine trash, which mainly consists of plastic, currently kills more than a million seabirds and mammals each year, became a major environmental issue from the last decade. The scientists therefore worked out the technologies for clearing the marine litter and protecting the sea for further disruption.

This essay assessed the impact of science and technology development from both positive and negative views. I believe that the environment could be improved by adopting new technologies in the long run.