Discuss advantages and disadvantages in visiting the Sahara and the Antarctic.

The Sahara and the Antarctic are both metaphors! It is axiomatic, obviously true and no need to prove if you look up at many journals and documentaries e.g. The Lonely Planet, that these regions are sparsely populated and extreme in climates.

To discuss benefits: it is tantalising i.e. interesting to visit places like the Sahara or a South Pole to seek adventure and sports because people enjoy paragliding over the arid desert lands or ice climbing in the polar creeks while capturing habitat and themselves in their cameras. Or, they like to enjoy the view of infinite sand dunes or icebergs over the horizons which form a jaw dropping panorama. Often, expeditions usually conducted by professional guides gives tourists a chance to speak to geologists and meteorologists who can elucidate the history and formation of these inhospitable regions first hand. Visitors can also enjoy exotic food made from scorpions in the Sahara and the seal meat prepared in Antarctic. Some believe that there is mysticism in these lands and that it also gives innate feelings of solitude and tranquility. Hence, tourists globally visit these places.

Whilst, the above are some examples of benefits, there are different facets to this tourism which can prove pernicious; meaning, it could have a harmful effect on visitors. To speak of the inherent dangers in these trips: the locations are prone to dangers like severe dehydration, lower survival rate after 48 hours in case if someone wanders away from the group due to harsh wilderness which includes poisonous insects and snakes, cannibalism by the local tribes, sharks and hypothermia. A small error could mean that death is inevitable!

In conclusion, both fun and hazards are an intrinsic part of this holiday trip when traveling to the Sahara or the Antarctic.