Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Businesses should do anything they can to make a profit.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

There are numerous laws enforced for the purposes of safeguarding the interests of the people as well the government from the businesses and vice versa. However, one should not forget that they are a contributor to the economy, provide jobs and in no case any entity be allowed to cross limits to misuse the freedom given to them. I disagree with the statement. The essay will be followed by the opinion in the end.

Firstly, there are many checks which are enforced by the government to make sure that the quality standards are met by the companies who are in the manufacturing business. However, there are some organizations who in order to make huge profits tend to by-pass the guidelines, the same should in the manner be allowed. For instance, a few years ago Johnson & Johnson had come out with a painkiller which was defective and in turn caused issues for many people. It was later revealed that in order to maximize profits the company did not use a chemical but rather chose a cheap alternative. The company was fined and asked to pay damages to people. Thus, the companies should not be allowed to jeopardize the safety of the people.

Secondly, if the organizations are set free it will lead to rampant environmental issues across the country. The companies will go on a spree to destroy the ecological balance to gather the resources which are available in abundance naturally and showing no regard for environmental protection. For example, in the 1990’s when the timber business was unregulated the companies had destroyed half of the green cover. Therefore, the entities should not be allowed to do business as they please.

In conclusion, the companies are there for purposes of giving services to people and should not focus on profits but rather on gaining the customer base. Once the customer is gained slowly and steadily the profit margins will go up.