Do you think a museum is to educate or entertain people?

In the first half of the twenty first century, museums are deemed to have striking implications on people’s comprehension of history and culture. Although educational values of museums are mainly accredited by a myriad of individuals, included myself, some have rebutted this notion, believing that entertaining aspects should not dismisses, as well.

Museums, of any kind, have a contributing factor to instruct cultural and historical heritage of a specific region. Historical museums, as a salient instance, depict culture transformation of a nation by means of artefacts, ancient specimen and objects of historical value. Topkapi museum in Turkey, as one of the most attention-grabbing setting in the world, not only does illustrate the changes of literature and architecture of country through medieval era, but also has manifold samples of the warriors’ fighting equipment, including swords and shields, evolving through history. Instructive of such exemplars, hence, are more far-reaching than the shortly amusing time following an entertaining program.

On the other hand, similar to other educational institutions, museums should provide some pleasurable programs to absorb more visitors and cover costs. In this regard, the better periodically held festivals such as art galleries are compromised into the museums’ yearly schedules, the more visitors, tourists in particular, are earnest to participate and more admission fee could be collected, therefore. Hardly ever, however, do entertaining programs have long-lasting influence on visitors in comparison with the unforgettable history and culture know-how obtained, if wisely been grasped.

In way of conclusion, museums should consider both instructive and entertaining features for their visitors, albeit educational purposes, as museums are originally based on, have more deeply ingrained impacts on one’s mind.