Economic growth and development are usually considered to be beneficial both for individuals and for society as a whole.Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples fro

Economic growth is inevitable and all the countries in the world are aiming for it. This is primarily because an economic sound country is advantageous to both the society as well as to an individual. On the other hand, in the race for development certain areas maybe compromised, but the pros far outweigh the cons.

Firstly, at an individual level, development means having access to better infrastructure, quality education and employment opportunities. This is turn lead to higher standard of living and increase in spending capacity. Now at a society level since every person is educated and employed, they invest their talents and resources in uplifting their society. Secondly, many refrain from going abroad because all their requirements are met in their home country itself. These small contributions later enables the country to turn into a superpower.

Conversely, economic development is largely dependent on technology. It focuses on majorly on automation and reducing manpower. As a result, people who are working in the Information Technology and Research and Development department may flourish, but others may be at the risk of loosing their jobs. For instance, many airports in the world are retrenching their front office staff and setting up various automated check-in station.

Keeping that in mind, all jobs cannot be replaced by robots and some professions such as doctors and teachers need a human touch. When a country is stable they invest more in the well-being of their citizens and make sure that everybody is on par with the vision of the country. For example, they teach their older population to have a hands on with technology as well as emphasis on teaching computer coding in schools.

To recapitulate, development may have some drawbacks on certain sections of the society, however, economic growth ensures improved quality of life and being up to date with rapidly changing technology.