Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a crucial role in ensuring the success of a person. There is a contentious argument about whether people should pay for university education or not. In my opinion, tertiary education ought to be free for all.

To begin with, the foremost reason for free education is that it will bring parity in the society. Some people are unable to pursue higher studies because of monetary concerns. Hence, free university education will benefit the weaker section of the population. Moreover, there will be tremendous impact on the economy of the nation as all the people will achieve employment opportunities due to their enhanced knowledge and skills. For instance, a nation where literacy rate is high will invariably have a higher per capita income.

Furthermore, having free education can provide students an opportunity to explore a career of their own choice. To illustrate, sometimes parents cannot afford the hefty fee of professional courses like engineering and this inability hampers the child’s future as they cannot study a subject of their interest. Also, when university education is free for all, private institutions will not be able to exploit students by charging hefty fee for admission.

To conclude, there are several benefits to making university education free for all. It will make the education system fair and provide equal opportunities to all. Hence, government should take imperative measures to promote free education and exploitive policies like admission through capitation should be abolished. After all, an educated population is the biggest asset of any nation.