More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, numerous corporations allow their workers to telecommute than ever before. Companies are able to provide such options easily, because of the significant technological improvement in networking. This essay will discuss about the positive and negative outcomes of this work from home culture.

Teamwork is vital to an organization’s success. People will be able to express their thoughts and ideas effectively with each other, when they meet face to face. Also, critical conflicts can be mitigated within minutes once team members meet in person. Whereas, communicating via emails and phone calls may take hours to resolve similar issues. Hence, some conservative managers prefer their employees to work from office premises.

On the other hand, Telecommute is an important technological solution for various key issues. Let us take a look at such issues. If a majority of the employees start working from home, then road congestion will drop which in turn will reduce the air pollution. Also, city population can be controlled to an extent. Furthermore, companies can hire talents across countries and allow their employees to work remotely. With this approach, Industries get to save big chunk of money in salaries as city workers are paid heavily compared to sub-urban and countryside due to the difference in cost of living.

In addition to that, employees will have much better work-life balance and which will improve the overall company’s productive. A recent study shows that, the employee's anxiety level reduced up to 40% when they work in relaxed environments such as a home office, coffee shops, etc.

To sum up, though there are some disadvantages involved in work from home option, advantages of this modern approach clearly outweighs the negative aspects. So, companies should encourage their employees to telecommute, if possible