Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

For any recruiter, it is common to go for candidate’s background check and ask for personal information. It is considered appropriate by few people whereas other do not feel comfortable in sharing private details. This essay will throw light on both perspectives and first discuss that personal information has nothing to do with job and secondly that personal data is valuable and can help in deciding a candidate’s career progression. My viewpoint matches with the former statement.

At the outset, it is important to know that for any job a candidate is applying for, it is immaterial to know whether he is married or not. This information does not relate to any kind of job an applicant is trying to fill. For example, most of the recruiters across the globe pick the aspirers for their skill sets and knowledge they possess after assessing their personalities through Psychometric Tests. Hence, in my opinion, it is not ethical to judge a person on the basis of his marital status.

On the contrary, knowing in advance if a candidate is single or married will help the Human Resource head in chalking out his career progression during his stay in the company. For example, a person who is married is already settled in his life owing to which he may not relocate and this saves the cost of recruiting and training new people. Moreover, his career advancement plan will be dealt accordingly by the authorities. Therefore, it will be fruitful for the organizations to ask candidates about their personal information as it will help them in taking business decisions.

To conclude, it is unethical to become judgmental on the basis of the private information provided by the candidate but same material plays a crucial role for managers in deciding the career path for the candidates. Nonetheless, my opinion still supports the former statement.