Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As an interview process, apart from academic and technical questions pertaining to a job, a candidate is often questioned on what are the kind of activities he does in his free time and his marital status. Whether this is just an ice breaker to pep up the nervous candidate or is recorded for further analysis on his profile? This essay further deliberates on this conundrum.

People spend enormous amount of time in the office and hence, companies need to provide employees with comfortable family-like set up. People from similar backgrounds thrive in a harmonious manner and help to create bond between team members. For example, employees who playing soccer bond well and form clubs where they can form social groups. This helps employees to work in team and ensure smooth running of the business without much conflicts in office. Man is a social animal and longs to be in company of others to resolve their issues. In case a staff member is having marital disputes, a fellow colleague can offer counselling help to alleviate his marriage related problems.

However, every coin has a flip side, recruiters often collect this information to decide whether an employee should be hired or fired from a job depending upon his personal status. This approach adopted would lead to losing a valuable talent. Ofcourse, a lot of money and time is spent on recruiting a person – but by prying in his personal space and making decisions based on this information is equivalent to being unjust with the staff. Many companies, before recruiting check with the female job seekers on their marital status to gauge their devotion and tenure with the organisation. Right candidates would avoid to work with such entities and companies eventually may get bad reputation.

Based on the aforementioned discussion, the intent of gathering personal information should be evaluated. If this information helps an employee and the company, it would be worthwhile to ask employees about their personal details.