Essay topics: Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Down the century, the world has drastically changes in many aspects such as living standards, life styles & most importantly working patterns. Nowadays, in order to keep business running, employers requires their staff to stay connected round the clock even on holidays. This phenomenon certainly has some advantages for the employers but many disadvantages for workers, are also intact to it. Let's discuss this school of thought in more detail to draw a conclusive understanding.

To begin with, these days nature of work in many companies particularly multinational companies is way different. Businesses are spread around the globe irrespective of timezone different. Yet this situation put employees to work 24/7 as international clients needs to catered by any means. Employers are by then required to have workers available on as and when needed basis. For example if a company is operating from Pakistan is client is US based, that client would be dealing with local company according to his own timezone. This definitely provides business humongous benefits .

On the contrary, this phenomenon has adversely affected employees work life balance. For instance, an employee engaged in work related things even on weekend would not be able spend quality time with his family. The person would not be in situation to pay attention to family needs and would not be able to participate in his child upbringing. As a result the employee would turn out to be money making machine for his family only. Employees work life balance would be disturbed.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, it is of utmost importance that employees should be given proper time to spend with their family. Work should be distributed in a rational way that it should not affect anyone's work life balance. It is quite understandable that business has to go on irrespective of the geographical location but by hiring more staff & right distribution of work can adjust both requirements in a smooth way.