Essay topics: Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

In modern society, education is arguably one of the most essential elements for individual and social development. However, it is argued that both primary and tertiary education overemphasize on theories and conceptual knowledge, thereby downplaying the importance of practical skills and procedural knowledge. The following paragraphs will discuss this view and my own perception.

It is reasonable to believe that students spend an excessive amount of time on learning facts at schools or universities. First of all, the implication of accepting education is primarily to pass all sorts of examinations and attain qualifications; in the light of such fact, most students are more likely to spend a considerable amount of time memorizing those theories and facts rather than reason out the way of applying them in real world. In addition, numerous educationalists believe that universities and colleges have no responsibility and obligation to educate students about practical skills, as those knowledges can be efficiently obtained and assimilated in future workplaces; therefore, it is unnecessary to spending time familiarizing with the skills in advance.

On the other hand, it is also worth mentioning that a number of educational institutions also provides students with sufficient time to enhance their practical skills. Many educators sometimes distribute a variety of individual assignments and team projects to students, which makes great contributions to the development of their practical abilities including technical and communicating skill. For instance, some projects could involve a real case for law students to analysis or a software application for IT students to develop. Therefore, students can gain practical experience by completing the tasks.

In my opinion, it is unquestionable that schools and universities have a tendency to concentrate on facts and theories instead of practical knowledge. However, I still disagree with the view, since I believe that most students are able to develop their practical skills by spending time on coursework.