Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

With the increase in human income and purchasing capacity, radical elevation in the level of wasting raw, as well as cooked eatables, has been surfaced each day, worldwide. In my opinion, such occurrence happens due to several reasons. However, if certain result-oriented measures are followed the situation could be reconciled to a large extent. Both the causes and remedies are discussed further chronologically.

Discussing the root-causes first, the first and the most logical one is the unpredictable number of guests in social gatherings and events. To be more explicit, there is often the case when hosts, organizers or caterers are unable to reckon the exact quantity of food to serve or prepare; as they are unaware of the number of guests going to attend the functions or gathering. Weddings, birthday parties, exhibitions, kitty parties and lots more; for example, are the major culprits of such a saddening trend. Apart from this, the unimagined quantity of food is been thrown by retail markets- In order to save the transportation cost- retailers stock a huge amount of edibles and groceries in their store. They are compelled to use it by given instructions: expiry date, sell-by date, best before and so on. This is especially the case with perishable products such as milk and fresh vegetable. The erratic climatic condition and poor consumption habits are other few contributors to the rise in such an unpleasant situation.

Nonetheless, some timely and precise measures can hold the situation. The most apposite one is that of being explicit while organizing communal events. One must -keep aside social formalities and- explicitly specify the number of guests should attend such functions. A good example of this is western countries, where people straight forward ask the number of attendees. Another workable one for retailers is they should store the food according to their day-to-day sale so that such eating commodity are availed before the expiry date. Redundant storage should be avoided stringently. Also, introducing food atm cabins all around the city would be of great help. Moreover, one should be circumspect towards their eating habits and make sure they put food on plates merely the quantity they could consume.

To conclude, and render my opinion, it can finally be stated that indeed today the enormous amount of food is being thrown as garbage due to an individual's abandoned attitude towards it.

But if defined steps and suggestions are followed this predicament situation can be dealt with.