Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work but many people dislike being evaluated What are the causes of this problem How could it be solved

Evaluation and feedback play a very important role in building development when it comes to school or work. Many people, however, do not like to be evaluated. In this essay I will discuss the probable reasons for this and solutions to tackle this problem.

Firstly, children/adults dislike being evaluated as it puts them on a pedestal. In school, students who are not doing too well in their exams or tests tend to feel inferior from students doing better than them. Similarly, adults when evaluated at work tend to feel the same as it defines their progress and in turn affects their promotion/salaries and growth in the office. Secondly, feedback and evaluation such as constant evaluation and exams puts unmounted pressure on the children to excel. Ultimately it makes them afraid of it and something that makes you afraid of, makes you dislike it. It increases competition and hinders their mental well being. This is also true for people who are working. The fierce work culture of today's modern world puts people under unnecessary workload in order to achieve work goals and success.

The dislike towards feedback and evaluation can be reduced by emphasizing on the importance of them in terms of personal growth. First and foremost, people should be made aware that constructive feedbacks are very crucial in developing their skills, from a very early age. It will not only help them to know where they stand as an individual but also help them to outgrow themselves and evaluations are a necessary means to achieve this goal. Secondly, organizations and schools need to reduce the fierce competition culture and instead promote healthy competition. For example, students in Sweden are the highest achievers in school across the world. The reason for this is the teachers don't give any homework to the children. Instead they are advised to spend time on their hobbies and extra curricular activities. Research has found that people tend to do do better in life if they divide their time not just working but also on individual hobbies, something they like.

To conclude, it's human nature to dislike something that puts them in a situation where they are compared to others. Evaluation and feedback do not always help people feel good about themselves. In order to solve this problem we need to reorganize our work culture which does not make students or adults afraid of evaluation.