Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

In the modern era, children are not taught to attain or improve their handwriting, as the most of their studies are now being done on electronic gadgets like tablets and personal computers. This dynamic has more drawbacks than benefits because the expertise in writing is an essential skill for various reasons and deterring students from learning this vital skill would have some untoward repercussions on their personal and professional life.

To begin with the positives, as children these days are often packed with their studies at school and doing homework after having a long day at the school, they hardly get any time to concentrate on ameliorating their handwriting skills. In other words, when this unnecessary need to focus on writing is eliminated, it would provide them with great relief. For instance, children, nowadays, are overloaded with the numerous term exams or periodic assignments, which is itself highly stressful to cope with.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to this altering teaching techniques. Firstly, handwriting still plays a vital role when writing a personal letter or greeting to our loves ones. although this can be done with typing it on the computer and take a printout, writing it with hands would make them feel more special, and that is usually the ultimate goal of giving a personal card to anyone. Secondly, there are still many places where it is often required to fill forms physically rather than using online portals. If someone does not know how to write clearly, this would impact their data parity on the system later.

In conclusion, while the benefit of not emphasizing the need to have clear handwriting is less in comparison to the drawbacks due to the requirement of handwriting in personal and official use.