Today, more and more people choose to live by themselves. What are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Most people, these days, often opt to live alone, and the prime causes of this changing lifestyle are, migration from rural areas to urban for the high-grade university education and employment opportunities. In my opinion, this is certainly an assertive evolution and has several benefits to an individual.

Firstly, the absence of necessary educational institutions for higher education forces students to move to cities. In other words, there is a significant dearth of education facilities in rural areas, and students often have to migrate to big cities in order to accomplish their dream of having university degrees. Hence, they have to live by themselves for many years until they finish their studies. Secondly, not only education services but also employment opportunities are zero to none in small towns or villages, so the people often shift to the urban areas to get a suitable job. Again, they tend to live alone during this period until they get married. For instance, In the capital city of India, around 50 percent of the workforce is from outside of Delhi that lives by themselves.

To start with the positives, one of the main advantages of staying away from home is that it makes youngsters self-depended, as they become self-sufficient for doing all the household as well as outside duties without taking any others help, which is an essential skill required in order to survive in the modern world. For example, parents, these days, often want their offsprings to be independent in every realm of their life, as it would be beneficial for their future life. Further, this way of living contributes towards their personality by planting confidence and fearlessness to adapt any new path or change in their life.

In conclusion, getting higher studies and well-paid occupations are the main reasons why people nowadays live themselves away from their loved ones. While this would make prepare them to survive in the contemporary world in the absence of anyone's assistance, it would also give them immeasurable confidence to achieve success in their personal as well as professional life.