Today, more and more people choose to live by themselves. What are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many people are living alone these days. There are several reasons behind this trend and the most important among them are the need to acquire higher education and independence. In my opinion, living alone has more benefits than disadvantages.

Students often have to live alone. Prestigious universities are situated in metropolitan cities and hence students who want to study in these universities have to relocate to cities and live away from their parents. An advantage of this arrangement is that they will learn to cook, clean and manage their finances. And such skills are crucial for success in life. Professionals are also migrating to big cities in search of better job prospects. They also live away from their family. Some people choose to live alone because they cannot manage the monthly expenses if they live with their family. For example, many people who work in foreign countries do not take their family with them because of their inability to provide for them. They live alone and send their savings to their family living in their native place.

On the down side, there are some downsides to living alone. When people live alone it affects their relationship with their family members because of the lack of face to face interactions with them. What’s more, young people who live alone are more likely to get into bad company and develop harmful habits.

To conclude, even though living alone has become a popular trend and has its inherent advantages, people have to pay attention to its demerits in order to sustain family bonds. They also need to ensure that they are keeping good company.