Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think it would be better for the environment and economy if people only eat the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In todays’ era when distance can be bridged in minimum time, people have numerous options of food from around the world. However, a considerate number of people advocate for eating only locally grown food as it benefits not only environment but also economy of the nation. In My opinion I strongly agree that the consumption of native products is far more beneficial financially as well as for environment.

To begin with, there are plethora of reasons for preferring indigenous foodstuff. Firstly, local foods are grown as per the climate and soil of the area, therefore, suits best to the people living in that area. Watermelons, for illustration, grows in hot and humid climate and its consistency is watery, so, it helps in quenching thirst. eating this fruit in snowfall area does not have any advantage.

Secondly, food that are packaged and transported far, loses its freshness and does not provide vital nutrition to body, undoubtedly fresh food always tastes better. Buying local is growing in importance as many people consider their own carbon foot print on the environment. For instance, shipping of Kiwi fruit in refrigerated containers raised a question of how much carbon does that produce.

Finally, farmers earn their bread and butter by selling their own grown crops. If consumers demand changes then it would be difficult for them to cultivate such eatables in existing weather and their livelihood will get drastically affected, which ultimately will be a setback for country’s economic growth.

In conclusion, I would emphasize on the fact that home cultivation benefits outnumber foreign foods. For the betterment of atmosphere as well as the monitory growth of peasants, one must consume seasonal fruits and vegetables.