Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think it would be better for the environment and economy if people only eat the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, globalization has made the export and import opportunity of food industry wider. However, a number of experts are of the opinion that depending on local items would be more eco friendly and local economy will be benefitted. I strongly agree with this ideology and in this essay I will discuss the reasons behind my opinion.

Firstly, distribution process of food products damages the environment. this is to refer that the plastic containers used to ship most of the food items possess threat to the atmosphere. A recent study has shown that 45% of the plastics directly damaged the environment in last couple of years due to the shipment of such items. if people boycott consuming imported products, then automatically the usage of plastic will fall.

secondly, local economy can be threatened by imported food items. To be precise, farmers and manufacturer will have to compete with the foreign items which may cause them a financial lose. Consecutively, customers will buy the foreign product paying extra because of the added shipment charge and tax. The similar kind of food might be available in the market to purchase in half price if it is locally grown. For instance, 5 kg rice from local brand would cost 3 us dollar in Bangladesh whereas the imported rice pack of same size will cost 5 us dollar or more.

To conclude, although making the food travel possible for producers and consumers has delivered positive impacts, there are some major drawbacks related to environment and local economy. Therefore, it would be wiser to depend on local food items to not risk the environment and the financial system of the country.