Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? Give reasons for your answer.

In modern societies, the freedom of speech is likely to be taken as granted especially in the developed countries. It is quite natural that different people have different perspectives and their opinions should be sometimes contradicted. Given this, some people would think that the freedom of speech can sometimes hinder the agreement and there are some situations that the freedom of speech should be restricted. However, I strongly believe that freedom of speech is always necessary in a free society. In the following analysis, I would like to reason and provide some evidence to support my position.

First of all, we should not forget that the censorship or restriction on the speech can lead the entire society to the autocracy. For instance, we can find out some notorious dictators in the history and almost all of them restricted the freedom of speech (e.g. Stalin in Russia, Hitler in German, and Pol Pot in Cambodia). Given the immense number of victims under their dictatorship, it is obvious that securing the freedom of speech is the first priority in today’s society.

Second, the reason why I argue that freedom of speech is highly important is that it secures the diversity of society. As I stated above, free speech can sometimes cause conflicts. However, it is the diversity of opinions that make the welfare of society improved. If all the people have the same opinion in a society, this society must not be improved and be stagnant.

Lastly, but not least, the speech is the fundamental characteristic of human beings. Therefore, our life should be monotonic and we should become lethargic if we are restricted to speak as we would like to do. For instance, the research conducted in the US have shown that the people who articulate what they think are more likely to be mentally healthier than the people who pay their mind to others and refrain from saying their own opinion. This research clearly shows the importance of freedom of speech.

In a nutshell, I think that freedom of speech should be secured in the free society for the abovementioned reasons. Without it, our society must be collapsed and be stagnant. For the prosperity of the society, the conflicts of opinions are unavoidable and we should seek out the solution for them.